Monday, 15 September 2008

Memorial of Our Lady of Sorrows

Today we Catholics celebrate the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady the Blessed Virgin Mary. The title "Our Lady of Sorrows" focuses on Mary's intense suffering during the passion and death of Christ. So what are these seven sorrows?
  1. The prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2:25-35)
  2. The flight into Egypt (Matthew 2:13-15)
  3. Loss of the Child Jesus for three days (Luke 2:41-50)
  4. Mary meets Jesus on his way to Calvary (Luke 23:27-31; John 19:17)
  5. Crucifixion and Death of Jesus (John 19:25-30)
  6. The body of Jesus being taken from the Cross (Psalm 130; Luke 23:50-54; John 19:31-37)
  7. The burial of Jesus (Isaiah 53:8; Luke 23:50-56; John 19:38-42; Mark 15:40-47)
These seven sorrows were foretold by Simeon (read it in today's reading) and thus are signs of the spiritual martyrdom of Mary, and her compassion with the sufferings of her Divine Son Jesus. (source: Catholic Culture)


Post a Comment